book blogger · book reviews

The Mafia and his angel (Book 1) – Book review

Alessio…

Cold. Ruthless. Killer. I am respected and feared by all.

I wasn’t put on this earth to love or be loved. I was put here to wipe out every last member of the damn Abandonato mafia, to pay them back for my mother’s death.

When I find a strange girl hiding, beaten, under my bed, I don’t let her live out of compassion. She’s a trinket, my plaything.

Ayla…

I thought Alessio was only one more man who wanted to use me, hurt me, and throw me away. I don’t know what it is to trust anymore. I can’t find my heart under the pain.

Alessio found it. He touched it, and brought it alive again.

But if he discovers just how dangerous I am to him…I’ll lose my life.


Review –

Wow wow wow!. I thought the other books I had read this year were the best, this one has by far captivated me. I have just finished book 3 and there is still more to go. But we’re here to focus on the 1st.

The darkness in this book is another level. Ayla has come from a really traumatic past ( may trigger some readers though as dark subjects are the main story line).

I thought this may be another cliché mob boss meets girl. But wow was I wrong. The mob life was dark, I could feel mself reacting to the violence.
Alessio is definitely, dark, murderous, dangerous but damaged. His past has made him who he is, and it is well played out througout the book, i was very impressed.

Ayla is beyond broken, even though she cries a lot ( like most the ladies do in these books), I actually felt a lot of empathy towards the character. She has been through hell and more. I felt myself cringing at her past and disgusted. The author has blown me away, and will do to you!

The hardest part for me was reading about Ayla’s lie, it felt so dragged out, I kept turning the pages just hoping she would finally tell him! I was becomming frustrated. However I think it was well thought out, it made me continue reading and then flowed beautifully into book 2.

A must read!

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Available on Kindle unlimited via Amazon


Leave a comment